Rules Expert Says Oklahoma’s Clinching TD Shouldn’t Have Counted

first_imgKyler Murray playing against Texas.ARLINGTON, TEXAS – DECEMBER 01: Kyler Murray #1 of the Oklahoma Sooners is tackled by Jerrod Heard #13 of the Texas Longhorns in the first quarter at AT&T Stadium on December 01, 2018 in Arlington, Texas. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)A college football rules expert says that Oklahoma’s game-clinching touchdown score against Texas in the Big 12 Championship Game should not have counted.ESPN college football host Chris Fowler says he spoke to a rules expert who claims Oklahoma’s game-clinching score against Texas came off of an illegal formation.Oklahoma was already winning at this point, and Texas turned the ball over on its ensuing possession, so maybe the penalty call wouldn’t have changed anything.Still, a flag likely should’ve came.“Was pointed out to me and then verified by @CFBRulesExpert that OU’s TD (amazing catch) to go up 12 late was on an illegal formation. Only 6 men on the line. Top WR a yard off the ball. Oops,” he tweeted.Was pointed out to me and then verified by ⁦@CFBRulesExpert⁩ that OU’s TD (amazing catch) to go up 12 late was on an illegal formation. Only 6 men on the line. Top WR a yard off the ball. Oops. pic.twitter.com/vhRiMRq1mv— Chris Fowler (@cbfowler) December 1, 2018There were complaints about the officiating during Oklahoma-Texas for most of the contest. This is just another addition to the list.Oklahoma ended up winning today’s game, 39-27, to inch closer toward the College Football Playoff.Stay tuned for the release of the College Football Playoff foursome on Sunday.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *